Kerala Career Guide » Universities in Kerala » Kannur University Kerala

Kannur University Kerala in Kannur

Kannur University was established by the Act 22 of 1996 of Kerala Legislative Assembly. The University by the name "Malabar University" had come into existence earlier by the promulgation of an Ordinance by the Governor of Kerala, on 9th November 1995. The University was inaugurated on 2nd March 1996 by the former Hon. Chief Minister of Kerala. The objective of the Kannur University Act 1996 is to establish in the state of Kerala a teaching, residential and affiliating University, promoting the development of higher education in Kasargod and Kannur revenue districts and the Mananthavady Taluk of Wayanad District.

The Act envisages that the University shall establish, maintain, manage and develop campuses at Kannur, Kasaragod, Mananthavady, Payyannur, Thalassery, Kanhangad and such other places as are necessary for providing study and research facilities to promote advanced knowledge in Science and Technology and other relevant disciplines.Kannur University is a multi-campus university, at Kannur, Kasargod, Mananthavady, Payyannur, Thalassery, and Kanhangad.

Kannur University Campuses, Deparments and Colleges

Thalassery Campus, Palayad, Kannur District

  • School of English & Foreign Languages , Department of Studies in English
  • School of Social Sciences, Department of Anthropology
  • School of Life Sciences, Department of Biotechnology & Microbiology
  • School of Commerce and Management Studies, Department of Management Studies
  • School of Development Studies, Department of Applied Economics
  • School of Legal Studies, Department of Law
  • School of Health Sciences
  • Department of Library and Information Science

Mangattuparamba Campus, Kannur University Campus

  • School of Distance Education
  • School of Physical Education and Sports Sciences, Department of Physical Education
  • School of Information Science & Technology, Department of Information Technology
  • Department of Mathematical Sciences
  • Department of Statistical Sciences
  • School of Pedagogical Sciences, Dharmasala
  • Department of Teacher Education, Dharmasala
  • School of Historical & Cultural Studies, Dharmasala, Department of History & Heritage Studies

Swami Anandatheertha Campus, Payyannur

  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Environmental Science
  • Department of Nano Science
  • Department of Music

Kasaragod Campus

  • Department of Teacher Education
  • School of Indian Languages, Department of Kannada

Mananthavady Campus

  • Department of Teacher Education
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Rural & Tribal Sociology

Dr. P.K. Rajan Memorial Campus

  • Department of Malayalam
  • M.B.A. Center
  • Department of Molecular Biology
  • Department of Hindi

Colleges Affilated to Kannur University

Govt. College, Vidya Nagar E. K. Nayanar Memorial Govt. College
K. M. M Govt. Women’s College Govt. College Mananthavady, Nallurnad
Govt. Brennen College, Dharmadam Govinda Pai Memorial Govt. College
Government Ayurveda College, Pariyaram Government College of Engineering, Kannur
Government Engineering College, Thalapoya, Mananthavadi. Govt. College of Teacher Education, Thalassery
Nehru Arts & Science College St. Pius X College, Rajapuram
Payyannur College Co-operative Arts & Science College
Sir Syed College S. E. S. College
Sree Narayana College Nirmalagiri College
Pazhassi Raja N. S. S. College Mahatma Gandhi College, Iritty
N. A. M. College Mary Matha Arts & Science College
P.K.M. College of Education Keyi Sahib Training College
Nusrathul Islam Arabic College Darul Irshad Arabic College
College of Applied Science, Pattuvam College of Applied Science, Pettikundu
College of Applied Science, Kuthuparamba Malabar Islamic Complex Arts & Science College
Gurudev Arts & Science College Aditya Kiran College of Applied Studies
Sir Syed Institute of Technical Studies Taliparamba Arts & Science College
Deva Matha Arts & Science College Mary Matha Arts & Science College
Sharaf Arts & Science College Bhaskara College of Arts
Sa-A-Diya Arts & Science College SNDP Yogam Arts & Science College
Dr. Ambedkar Arts & Science College, Sreesailam Mahatma Gandhi Arts & Science College, Chendayad
I.T.M College of Arts & Science Nalanda College of Arts & Science
Chinmaya Arts & Science College for Women Peoples Co-Opeartive arts & Science College
Khansa Women’s College for advanced Studies St. Joseph’s College, Pilathara
M. E. S. College Sibga Arts & Science College
Our College of Applied Sciences Wadihuda Institute of Research and Advanced Studies
Ideal Arabic College Al-Maquar Arabic College
L.B.S College of Engineering Sree Narayanan Guru College of Engineering & Technology
Vimal Jyothi Engineering College Institute of Technology, Mayyil
Chinmaya Institute of Technology Don Bosco Arts & Science College
Mar Thoma College of Special Education A. W. H Al Badar Special College
Parassinikadavu Ayurveda Medical College Academy of Medical Sciences, Pariyaram
Kannur Medical College Century International Institute of Dental Science and Research centre
Pariyaram Dental College Kannur Dental College
Crescent B. Pharm College Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences, ACME
Malik Deenar College of Pharmacy Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Pharmacy
Malik Deenar College of Nursing College of Nursing, A. C. M. E.
Koyili College of Nursing Century College of Nursing
Canossa College of Nursing College of Nursing Kannur Medical College
Lourde College of Nursing Co-operative Institute of health Sciences

Educational Details of Kannur University

Academic Calendar 2012-13 for all Arts & Science Colleges affiliated to Kannur University–

Fee Structure –


Examination Information-

Distance Education-

Exams Results–

Entrance Exams Results–

Kannur University Facilities

  • Central Library-Kannur University Central Library started functioning at Kannur town in 1998. It was opened to the academic community in 1999. The Library has been serving the various sections of the University community viz., students, research scholars, faculty members, staff, graduates and students belonging to other Universities in the jurisdiction of Kannur University.
    Kannur University Central Library
    Civil Station (P.O)
    Kannur: 670002,
    Kerala, India
    Ph: 0497 2712584;
    E mail :
  • NCC
  • NSS
  • Student Union

Kannur University Location and Development

The Administration Block of the University is located at Managattuparamba, Kalliassry Grama Panchayath, Kannur District. It is just one kilometer away from the Dharmasala Junction which is 15 km away from Kannur in the National Highway- 17 towards Payyannur.

Phone Nos:
0497 2785200, 0497 2785222

Email Ids:


Kannur University Campus P.O.
Kannur District
Pin : 670 567

Kerala related institutes, you may also like

Add Kannur University Kerala Feedback, Comments, Reviews

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.